Greetings everyone, thanks for sticking around for post #2!

My goal with this is to blog every day for who knows how long, and to knowledge dump whatever's on my mind. The topics will stick close to music's relationship to software and how to transition from a career in music to one as a software engineer- hopefully along the way I'll be able to refine my message and give better content to you.

I fully plan on posting videos, audio clips, code snippets, links to projects/githubs etc. to help each of you learn as best you can.

I want to be the guide that I wish I had 8 years ago when I first began learning software development.

I'm what they call, 'self-taught'. Which is a misnomer in my opinion- I did not 'plug into the matrix' or rest my face upon textbooks and absorb knowledge via osmosis – no – instead of getting a Computer Science degree, or going to a trendy Bootcamp, I simply learned through open source educational materials and several paid resources, many of which you've probably heard of (and that I'll dive into at some point), but my point is that it was hard!

Without getting too deep into the pros and cons of self-teaching right now (that will be another post), a big con is simply distraction. There's a million shiny new things to learn when you're learning any new skill and unless you have a curriculum or road map (a big pro for boot-camps and traditional degrees for example), you're going to spin your wheels when facing the World Wide Web. However, you're also going to save a lot of $$$ (why I did it).

I want to save you the 6+ months I lost when chasing new technologies or languages. I want to save you the gutted feeling of realizing you actually haven't learned any of the stuff you've been watching or reading for the last 2 weeks (because you've actually been staying surface level with way too many topics).

To cut to the chase, I want to teach you the bare minimum skills needed to allow you to start seriously applying for junior web and software developer positions.

Those skills are:

I will walk through how the internet works, how browsers work, how to think logically, what a day to day looks like as a developer, and every question under the sun you might have. I'm going to also point you to other free, open source resources to fill in the gaps but I'm going to *urge you to not skip ahead or jump around like I did.

I'm going to lay out a road map for us tomorrow and what will lie ahead in the coming days and months so you can get a rough understanding of what you'll be getting into. My expectation is that you, assuming you have zero experience, can get a junior level position in 6 months time if you follow this road map diligently and do the work I tell you to.

Will you accept the challenge?

And this blog/roadmap isn't just for musicians – I'll of course be leaning that way throughout this with anecdotes and cases that might make more sense to a musician for example but you're more than welcome to join along if you're not, this information can benefit anyone!

Switching careers to software development has been nothing short of life changing for me and if you're looking for it, I hope I can help change yours too.

Best, CFM