Boat, River, and Sailor

By Acererak

Writing makes me feel like im the boat, the river and sailor. Like I am the sun overhead and the rocks just out of view. The events of the moment. The moment itself. Writing shares my inner self. Even when I don't mean too.

Emotions are hard for me. Not so much I wouldn't cry during “Marley and Me” or “Grave of the Fireflies”. But I keep my caring close. I keep pain even closer. I take all the tragedy in my life and push it down, too far down. The only thing that has made a trip down that well. Has been writing.

I've never and could never plan what I'm going to write. It's a font. I let the words spill (usually misspelled) onto whatever medium it demands. This has led to many unfinished stories, poems and sidewalk art. It has led to some of the best ideas of my life.

When I was sixteen, I wrote a story. I titled it a 'love story' and wrote it the night before valentines day. It was about a boy. Who grew up in a poor house without walls. About him finding his first friend, a girl with raven hair. How they grew up together. How.. they grew apart.

I wrote about him discovering what it meant to grow up. How he found new love in another. In her he saw her passions, drive and peace. To really see someone else and fall in deeply love.

I wrote that story for her and the next day. Trembling on the bus. I held that story close to my chest. When I got to school, I laid that story on her desk.

We have been married for over fifteen years.

So writing makes me feel pretty happy. Even if what I write isn't always well written. It is cathartic and I owe a lot of tranquility to it.

Thanks

A response to the Writing prompt