Pasajero

By Pablo Cortez

Note: I originally wrote this poem in Spanish. Below are both the Spanish and English translations of the poem.

Pasajero

No quiero vivir en el país de los rostros pasajeros. Aquel repleto de las almas que perdieron las llaves del tiempo y no recuerdan ni el delirio ni ocurrencia. Si el cristal de la mañana no revienta en mil colores, me habrán anulado el pasaporte al país de la intuición. Para entonces no podré quejarme ni enojarme. Para entonces ya seré el olvido.


Fleeting

I don’t want to live in the country of fleeting faces. The one teeming with minds that have lost the keys of time and can remember neither delirium nor wit. If mornings no longer burst into a thousand colors, my passport to the land of intuition will have been revoked. By then I will not complain or be enraged. By then I will be time long lost.

A response to the National Poetry Month prompt

#NationalPoetryMonth