Some quick thoughts as a new Kubuntu Focus user – read on if that sounds interesting!

I purchased one due to a mix of factors:

I'd been using Linux exclusively on used ThinkPads prior to this purchase, so this was a bit of change both in cost as well as design.

The keyboard isn't bad, but I miss the chiclet keys of the ThinkPads (yeah I'm one of those, the OG keyboards are nice too but the chiclet style has always been my favorite); there's a squeakiness/uneven quality to the keys that I haven't had before.

The size is great, as a long time 14” laptop user having a numpad is wonderful, not sure if I'll ever go back unless travel opens up again. The build feels sturdy and I like the chassis – it's not a fingerprint magnet even if it's not the same style matte finish I was used to prior.

My one chassis complaint would be the vents on the sides, they're wider spaced and I feel like I could damage them (get them caught or crushed if I hold at just the wrong angle) though there's no indication this might happen.

The 1080P 140Hz screen is a dream, as with my desktop monitors anything over 60Hz is most welcome – though the hinge stops at a surprisingly short angle if you're used to being able to lie the display flat against a table.

The GPU works (nice to have the power of a 2060 even if it's the base version), the battery indicator was accurate and I liked how personalized the order/post-shipment experience was – it definitely felt like I was an important customer and not just another buyer.

I wish there were more USA options for things like Tuxedo computers – outside of Purism and System76 I'd love to see more USA availability in the Linux-only laptop space. If you're looking for a dual-GPU machine and enjoy KDE/Kubuntu I'd say it's worth considering a Kubuntu Focus – even with my keyboard concern.


Below this is all distro/personal choice stuff, feel free to stop here (no hard feelings).


I tried to love Kubuntu but KDE is just not for me – that's the beauty of Linux though, so I backed up the image on the included USB and went back to Manjaro Gnome. Other than using #! I've been on a Gnome distro long enough that having menus feels weird.

Having a dual-GPU with Linux is new to me, and there was learning curve for sure; the Kubuntu team did a great job making sure everything worked out of the box, getting back up to that level is still something I'm working on.

Here's a list of the current issues:

The latest Gnome 20.2 image is broken for some users (https://forum.manjaro.org/t/gnome-login-issue-on-fresh-install/49329 and others like it) and I experienced this as well. I got around this by going for an older image that let me create a username and password, then fighting with the drivers after I could actually login.

Drivers and Linux aren't something I've had to mess with a lot in the past, the Intel-only ThinkPads didn't have GPUs and their support was solid but I'm glad there's relatively solid documentation in this regard.

After I was able to get the driver sorted and started to use the machine the latest kernel update to 5.10 quickly undid my hard work and killed the driver – luckily I was able to solve in much the similar manner (alt. TTY login, fix drivers that got uninstalled, reboot).

I could rollback the kernel, but somehow that feels like giving up so I'd rather not unless things become unusable.

I quickly had to get acquainted with Optimus Manager, where I'm still working with these issues:

Battery life is impacted, 4hrs or so unless the power modes decide to play nice, but being under lockdown makes this less of an issue than it would be otherwise.

HDMI Video out works but Pulse/Alsa refuses to see the connection as anything else but unavailable/unplugged (even when it's in use and looking fine) – this was a surprise I wasn't expecting, and made me glad I had spare machines so I could still use my TV speaker setup even if I didn't have the power I was wanting.

So far all my attempts to get things recognized have failed, though I have yet to dedicate a set block of time just for this. There are multiple posts across the internet that fit the description of my issue, but so far the steps haven't resolved them – I can see's that there's audio being sent to the input, but won't actually let it through.

I'm careful of what packages I update now, and still love that I'm not relying on my partners Windows machine for things that need more power even if it bugs me that not everything is up to the same smoothness level I had grown used to on my old machines.