Game Log D:OS2 – PES2019 – 002

So here's what I've learned so far with regards to Divinity: Original Sin 2 and Pro Evolution Soccer 2019.

Divinity: Original Sin 2

This game is hard. Like really hard. I'm only playing in “Classic mode”, which if I understand correctly, is the normal difficulty level. Fights are hard. I've seen the “Game Over” screen more times than I care to remember. Game over

There are games where the boss battles are hard, but the rest of the battles are “okay”. In this game, every battle is hard. Doesn't matter if you're fighting an elite enemy, or just trying to survive getting assaulted by teleporting crocodiles, every fight in this game is hard. In every fight there is the possibility of your party getting wiped out. It is brutal especially for someone new to the game and its combat mechanics.

The good news here is that the more you play, the more you learn how the combat system works and the better you become. I've had to restart the game twice already, because of the stuff I learned while playing. And right now, I'm debating whether I should restart again. Also, from what I've read online, the game is supposedly the most difficult at the beginning, at levels 1-4. So once you get to higher levels, the game's difficulty should level out.

Here is a list of notes I made while playing:


Pro Evolution Soccer 2019

Last time I talked about PES 2019, I was about to end my first Master League season. It ended quite well. I won the PEU League and the PEU Cup. Goios who was my top scorer even won the European Player of the Year award.

I played so well that I ended up getting invited to the Asian International Champions Cup. Konami describes this as an invitational tournament for the top teams around the world. This happened right around the time that I bumped up the difficulty level to “Top Player”, where before I was playing in “Professional” difficulty level. I knew it was going to be a challenge, but man was I blown away.

For the Asian International Champions Cup, I ended up in a bracket with Real Madrid and Bayer Leverkusen. This would have been fine if I selected a real team to begin my Master League campaign, like say Manchester United or Chelsea. However I selected a fictional PES United team and used the original Master League lineup, which means I had fictional players none of which were at the same level as the players from Madrid and Leverkusen.

My first game, in “Top Player” difficulty against Real Madrid was a rude awakening. I'm used to playing a possession game, where my team keeps the possession most of the time. In the game against Real Madrid, I could barely hang on to the ball. The opposing players were all stronger, faster and smarter. They would intercept passes that would normally connect. Casteldine, who used to be able to control midfield, could not even hang on to the ball for a few seconds. There were instances where the ball was knocked off him before he could even turn around.

Needless to say, defending against the opposing team was a very challenging affair. I was used to my center backs intercepting passes and winning the ball regularly. Not against these teams. They could barely stop the opposing team from scoring. It was also the first time that I saw my full backs run out of stamina, due to trying to keep up with really fast wingers from the opposing team. That didn't happen when playing against PEU League teams in “Professional” difficulty.

On a positive note, I played my first season so well that I got offered to coach several national teams. I decided to coach the US Mens National Soccer Team. I don't know how that will work out but I'm looking forward to it.

The things that I learned from this experience are:

Tags: #DivinityOriginalSin2 #ProEvolutionSoccer2019 #GameLog

Reply via email...