Dad vs Videogames 🎮

DivinityOriginalSin2

It's been awhile since I've played Divinity: Original Sin 2, but after failing on my 5th Ironman Mode attempt at XCOM 2 this was a much needed change.

Note that there might be some spoilers in here especially if you are still early into the game. You've been warned.

I've managed to escape Fort Joy. By doing so, I ended up on a ship, the Lady Vengeance. However the ship is uncontrollable as it is tied to its current owner, Dallis. To wrestle control of the ship, you need to sing the ship a song. The song book is located inside Dallis' chambers in the lower levels of the ship.

Read more...

Shadow's Eye Crossbow Ifan got a crossbow from Zalsekar the NPC. It had pretty high stats so I gave it to my Ranger. What a difference maker in combat! My Ranger now does some pretty good damage. Weaker enemies are taken out with just 3-4 hits. It probably also helps that I stopped leveling up my Huntsman skill and instead now focus on the Ranged skill, which increases damage from the use of bows and crossbows.

The idea to use the Ranger to strip out Physical Armor from all enemies in the battlefield is a good one. It makes multiple enemies vulnerable to getting knocked down with just one use of the Battlestomp skill.

Read more...

Today Fane proved himself to be a valuable member of the party by disarming traps that were located inside a poison cloud. As mentioned previously, Fane being an Undead character, gets healed when he gets hit with poison. It was super easy to disarm the traps by just having Fane walk to them.

The lure them to a “choke point” strategy I mentioned previously definitely works. I've used it 3 times already and it has made a difference in battles. Also, make sure your melee fighter or tank has the “Opportunist” talent. This enables that character to make “Attacks of Opportunity” if any enemy tries to slip past them while they are guarding the choke point. Screenshots below show one battle where I used this strategy.

Choke Point Screenshot 1 In the screenshot above you can see my party's formation. I have Ifan, my tank up front by the door. Just behind him are Lohse and Fane who are basically support characters. Then all the way back is my Ranger.

Read more...

So here's what I've learned so far with regards to Divinity: Original Sin 2 and Pro Evolution Soccer 2019.

Divinity: Original Sin 2

This game is hard. Like really hard. I'm only playing in “Classic mode”, which if I understand correctly, is the normal difficulty level. Fights are hard. I've seen the “Game Over” screen more times than I care to remember. Game over

Read more...

So I've played 3 hours of Divinity: Original Sin 2 – Definitive Edition on the Xbox One and here's what I've learned so far:

  • You only get to create 1 character at the start of the game. I was not expecting that, but it is what it is. This is not like Icewind Dale then in that regard. Character creation full armor
Read more...