Dad vs Videogames ๐ŸŽฎ

Starfield

Character Name: Edgewater Class: Soldier Playthrough: 1st


Just had an encounter with Spacers (basically space pirates) while traveling to a different planet. At first, they were happy at having someone to bully. But after realizing that I was flying the Razorleaf, the ship that belonged to The Mantis, they apologized and grav-jumped away LOL. This surprised me as I didn't know that would happen when flying the Razorleaf.

This is a starship called the Razorleaf. The Razorleaf...

The Razorleaf is a starship that was piloted by The Mantis, a space vigilante. If you finish the quest line for The Mantis, one of the rewards you get is the Razorleaf. You also get the Mantis armor set, which is one of the best armor sets in the game IMO.

Read more...

Character Name: Edgewater Playthrough: 1st


To finish the โ€œCheck out your ship's inventoryโ€ mini quest in Starfield, you need to find the Cargo Hold in your ship and intentionally take out an item from the Cargo Hold. It is not enough to just browse the contents of the Cargo Hold.


Arrived at a new city named Neon. This is Neon, the 2nd or 3rd big city I visited in the game. From the outside it looks like some big fish market out in the middle of an ocean. But from the inside...

Read more...

Note: This game log is a few weeks behind. What I have written below were my early thoughts on the game. It's more of a first impressions post than a game log, but it is what I've written down on my journal. I emphasize the word early because it would seem, from what I've written below, that I hate the game, or that it's no good. But my viewpoint changed as I kept playing and kept leveling up. Just to note that at the time of this writing, I've actually already finished the game. Anyone that's a fan of single player RPGs will enjoy this game.


Character Name: Edgewater Playthrough: 1st

My character wearing the Constellation Spacesuit

Still playing Starfield and the initial excitement I think has worn off a little. Below are a couple of my thoughts on the game.

Persuasion System/Minigame

The dialogue Persuasion system/minigame seems unfinished, or clunky, or at times broken. Some of the conversations end up with unrealistic results. At one point the person you're talking to is adamant about pushing their point of view, then you say something very minor, then all of a sudden they have a huge change of heart and now they're agreeing with you. It seems very unrealistic to me.

I had one such conversation with a gang leader, whose gang was holding up a bank and had hostages. I used the Persuasion system to try to get them to back down and release the hostages. My initial dialogue choice was a hard stance, basically saying something to the effect of, โ€œHey man, no one is going to bail you out, you might as well release the hostages because the Marshal is not going to agree with your demands.โ€ To this statement the gang leader responded with something like, โ€œYou want to be a hardass? I can be a hardass too. You either cater to our demands or we'll kill the hostages.โ€ At this point, I was convinced there was no way to persuade the gang leader to release the hostages.

Read more...

Into the Starfield...

Photo mode in Starfield allows you to get some wonderful bokeh shots of your ship out in space.

...loving the Photo Mode in this game!

Tags: #Starfield #GameScreenshots

Reply via email...

First ever playthrough of Starfield. Here's some backstory on my character to help set the tone for the rest of my playthrough. Note that this is mainly for my reference as I continue playing the game.

My character's name is Edgewater. He used to be a Soldier before deciding he wanted to try living life as a regular citizen. He heard of a mining expedition in the planet Vectera and decided to join the crew. And this is where the game starts...

One of the earliest scenes in the game. One of the earliest scenes in the game. My character was about to head out into a mine with Supervisor Lin and Heller.

In the mines. Headed down into the mines. You can play Starfield in first person view or third person view.

Read more...