Thailand / 3 Weeks Backpacking Trip / Day 15

A big day was ahead, just like on day 14, a hike was planned for today. Although I still felt the hike of over 4 hours from the day before in my legs, I felt ready to take this adventure and make the most of the day. I hear you asking, which hike are you going to do today? It is a hike loved by many tourists and locals! I present to you, day 15 and my adventures at the Tiger Cave Temple (Wat Tham Seua).

On my way to the Tiger Cave Temple

The drive to the Tiger Cave Temple was certainly not an ugly one. The route led me through the beautiful landscape of Krabi province, with many beautiful roads, views and rock formations.

The scenic roads of Krabi province

Although the route should only take about 30 minutes, it took me at least an hour. While the road to Tiger Cave Temple was very scenic, the first section certainly was not. It was a busy highway with a lot of freight traffic and taxi vans, which made it all a bit less relaxed. Fortunately this stretch of road didn't take any longer than 10 minutes, and I ended up on a quieter road.

The route I had to drive

Of course I had to stop at the last 7 Eleven I would encounter to do some shopping. A few bottles of water and some food were certainly not superfluous. Especially since my planning was not the best, since I was going to do the hike in the heat of the day. Something to do with waking up on time and that I'm not the best at planning. Perhaps this is why when traveling I always decide last minute what to do, where to sleep and what the next destination will be.. 😅

The Tiger Cave Temple

The Tiger Cave Temple is a Buddhist temple in the Krabi province of Thailand. The Thai name of this temple is Wat Tham Seua (Wat means Temple. It's basically just a temple with a lot of stairs and a great 360 degree view. The good news is that there is no entrance fee to Tiger Cave Temple.

Just a temple at Tiger Cave Temple's main ground.

The main attraction at Tiger Cave Temple is the sacred site at the top of the mountain.
Only to get here you will have to climb 1,237 of the steepest steps you have ever seen. A nice addition are the monkeys that are everywhere during the climb. The monkeys are certainly a nice addition to the climb, you just have to watch your belongings and zip your bag properly. 🙈

The start of Tiger Cave Temple "hike".

The stairs I had to conquer

Was the hike all worth it?

The climb up was pretty tiring and I did sweat a lot. What I didn't know was that there is a water tap at the temple's summit. So this is good to know if you ever consider climbing this temple! And the most important thing, was the hike worth all the effort? I think so, but I am certainly curious about your opinion (see photos and video).

The view from the top was amazing and was worth every step! From the top you had a perfect view of Krabi Province. The landscape consisted of a very green environment, with mountains on one side and a stretched landscape on the other.

View from the Tiger Cave Temple

Not only did you have a beautiful view on the mountain, the temple itself was also very beautiful. It consisted of several Buddhist statues and a huge bell. I definitely spent more than two hours at the top of the temple. I mean, I had plenty of time ahead and it was wonderful to just dream away in the green landscape.

Buddhist statues

Drive back to Ao Nang

Just before I wanted to drive away from Tiger Cave Temple, I spotted another chance for a cool photo. I looked in the rear view mirror of my rental motorcycle, and saw a great temple in it. This is where the following picture came out.

Rear view mirror picture of a temple

I didn't want to drive the same way back so I quickly looked for a stopover. On Google I came across the lake Nong Thale. A lake with a great view and certainly not a destination where other tourists had been that day. The water of the lake was definitely not the cleanest, but the view was certainly spectacular.

Nog Thale lake, Ao Nang

Next to the lake was a small village where everyone was amazed that a tourist was driving through it. Even my new friend below gave me a puzzled look that I stopped to take a picture of him. So cool!

My new homie! 🤣

At the start of the day I knew the hike wasn't going to be an easy one, so I thought I'd be smart to take my swimming gear. On the way back I stopped close to my hostel at the beach. To take a dip in the sea during the sunset. This definitely was my best idea of ​​the day. The perfect combination, a good sunset and a very refreshing dive into the sea!

I mean, can it get any better than this?

**Food review
**Of course I must not forget to tell you about two snacks that I tried this day. On my way to the Tiger Temple I stopped at a 7 Eleven, and there was this vendor selling some very famous and delicious Thai snack. I had read a lot about it online, and definitely had to try it. I present to you, Thai Coconut Pancakes (Kanom Krok). They’re made in a pan with iconic round indentations, creating a little cup of goodness that’s crisp on the outside and soft, warm and custardy on the inside. Way to delicious!

Thai Coconut Pancakes - Kanom Krok

On the other side of my hostel was a mosque, where several street vendors sold delicious halal food. There was a man who sold some chicken and beef on a stick. And the line for the street vendor's food stall was huge. So I had to try his snack. I ended up choosing chicken, and I can tell you one thing. It was delicious!

BBQ flavoured chicken

Cinnamon Video

Just like last week I have another video for this week. I hope it gives you a good impression of the Tiger Cave Temple, the lake and the sunset at the beach.

https://cinnamon.video/watch?v=398485966890730551

Video header of the link above, preview is not working..

Only Coil subscribers can read my story about and see 10 bonus pictures!

Continue reading with a Coil membership.