Thailand / 3 Weeks Backpacking Trip / Day 17

It is already day 17 of my backpacking trip in Thailand, and the trip is now almost coming to an end. I have about five days left until my return trip, of which 4 in Bangkok. This morning I woke up at the Rapala Rock Wood Resort and I still had to see what the day was going to bring me. The hotel was quite fully booked, and there weren't really other options, as the resorts were quite pricey.

So what am I going to do, am I going back to Ao Nang where I also spent the last few days, or can I spend another day on the island Let's find out!

The route to breakfast at the hotel

**What's the plan?
**During breakfast I had given myself the task to see what the options were. At this point I realized that not planning a trip can sometimes have its disadvantages. I soon found out that another night at this great location was not an option, so the only option was to leave the small peninsula called Railay Beach and return to Ao Nang.

Of course I was smart enough to not leave right away at the start of the day, after all it was still early in the day and Ao Nang is only a fifteen minute boat ride away. Plenty of time to relax and enjoy the views and beach of this beautiful location. After breakfast I packed my belongings, left it at the reception of the hotel and made my way to the beach where I had spent a large part of my day yesterday.

Railay Beach, Krabi province

Today it was a bit busier on the beach than it was yesterday, which was mainly reflected on the beach itself, but also on the water. Tourists boats came back and forth, and I'm not talking about the Thai longtail boats.. Luckily I did take my GoPro to the beach today, the perfect opportunity to shoot some videos from the beach as a reminder of this pretty busy, but certainly very beautiful location. Be sure to check out the Cinnamon video if you want to get an impression of the beach! 😉

Going back to Ao Nang

It was time for me to go back to the hotel to collect my things and look for a long tail boat. On arrival my backpack was taken up by lift, unfortunately this was not the case on the way down. So I had to do a little workout to get to the bottom of the stairs.

It was a short but beautiful stay at Railay Beach, and I certainly would not have wanted to miss this beautiful place. I found out that boats also left for Ao Nang on my side of the island. You only had to wait longer here, as there were fewer tourists on this side of the island. After a while a family arrived, and they turned out to be Dutch too. We were all with just enough people to leave by boat. So we left Railay Beach behind us and the beautiful way back could begin.

It was quiet, so I had a perfect view

Ao Nang

Back in Ao Nang I decided not to sleep in a hostel again, I opted for a little more luxury. And for $ 32 I found a place that suited this perfectly. A private room at the Aonang Eco Inn hotel. I made a video tour of the room which you can find in the Cinnamon video down below.

My room in the Aonang Eco Inn hotel

It was a pretty good hotel room, with a balcony on boullevard street. During sunset it was absolutely perfect, the sun was shining perfectly on the rocks opposite my hotel room, which gave a very nice effect. So I quickly got a beer at the 7 Eleven, and sat down to enjoy the view!

The view from the hotel balcony

Since I had already seen everything in Ao Nang, I decided that I would return to Bangkok the next day. I had two options, one was to take a bus back to Bangkok, and the other to fly from the airport in Krabi. Since I didn't have many days left, and domestic flights are not expensive in Thailand, I decided to fly. A one-way ticket from Krabi to Bangkok only cost me $ 100.

Completely ready for tomorrow, I decided to have dinner and enjoy the beach at night for the last time. It's just so relaxing to enjoy the sound of the waves in combination with a fresh cold beer! Can I end the day any better? I don't thinks so.. 😀

Cinnamon Video

Be sure to watch my video from day 17 and get an impression of the beach, my hotel room and the view from the balcony. Be sure to let me know what you think of the video, always good to get feedback and know what you think is the best shot!

https://cinnamon.video/watch?v=408619784712750691

Only Coil subscribers can see the 6 bonus pictures and read my story about the *FAKE beer***!
**

Continue reading with a Coil membership.