Thailand / 3 Weeks Backpacking Trip / Day 18

This is the day that I'm going back to the destination that I first started my trip and will also end my trip – Bangkok, Thailand.

Checking out at the hotel

First of all, of course, I had to eat breakfast and check out at the Aonang Eco Inn hotel. Breakfast was included at the hotel, so I started my day with a few delicious sandwiches and a fresh orange juice. After packing my bag I was able to check out and had to wait for the bus to take me to Krabi airport. I had just enough time to visit one of the many 7 Elevens close to my hotel, I mean those 7 Elevens are just about enywhere in Thailand, so convenient!

Checking out of the hotel

Krabi Airport

With enough bananas, drink and other snack I was back just in time. The van that would take me to the airport just arrived and shouted my name, great timing! The van that I booked was a so called airport bus, and costed me about 150 Baht ($5), and this for a journey that takes 1 hour and 30 minutes. So cheap, this would never be possible in the Netherlands!

The airport itself was not very special. There was one hall where all passengers from different destinations gathered. All these passengers were accompanied by over 20 birds that somehow entered the airport and just flew around and lived their lives here. 🤣

The flight from Krabi to Bangkok airport was just as long as the bus trip to the airport itself. And a one-way ticket from Krabi to Bangkok cost me only about $100. The flight was pretty good, there was enough room for my legs for me as giant dutchmen! I really just don't remember so much from this journey, I didn't make any photos or videos, which is a shame. But luckily I wrote some notes down, so writing this blogs brings back so many memories, which I find really awesome!

Back in Bangkok

After 18 days of traveling I am back in Bangkok, back to the place where the journey all started. It has become a trend to book a slightly more luxurious hotel at the end of my travels. Of course I had to travel to the hotel first. For this I had several options, of which the A3 shuttle bus service of the government was the best option.
This bus is connecting Don Mueang International Airport (DMK) with Bangkok City. The Bangkok A3 Bus fare is 30 THB ($1) per person for a 45 minute bus ride.

Shuttle bus to Lumphini Park

Lumphini Park

The final destination of the bus was Lumphini Park, one of the largest green spaces in central Bangkok. I was once in Lumphini Park in 2017, and I loved this park so much that I decided to walk through it. I love the atmosphere and the vibe of this park, mainly because of the wonderful tranquility in the middle of the city, the people who play sports and the animals you can find there. It was a tough walk, because of course I was still walking with all my luggage through the middle of the park in the heat of the day.

Lumphini Park

Admiral Premier Bangkok

To get to the hotel from Lumphini Park I had ordered a Grab taxi, a 15 minute ride cost me less than $ 5. In Bangkok, I decided to stay at the Admiral Premier Bangkok Hotel. A hotel that offered the most value for the money. In the hotel I had opted for a normal studio, nothing special, a room with a bed and bathroom. The best thing about this hotel is that it has a rooftop pool.

During check-in I suddenly heard that the hotel was booked quite full, and they had upgraded me to another room. Once I got to the room and opened the door I was shocked, booking this hotel was one of my best decisions of my trip. After looking at their site I found out that they had not given me a studio, but one of the more luxurious suites. This room had a kitchen, living room, separate bedroom, balcony and luxurious bathroom (Cinnamon Video).

I decided to make just take some rest this evening. I walked to the nearest 7 Eleven, bought some snacks and beer and decided to watch a movie in the hotel.

Chang beer

On the way back I came across a street vendor that sold snacks. A kind of mini pancakes made of egg with a piece of sausage in it. It tasted really good, and I hadn't tried it before.

Mini pancakes made of egg with a piece of sausage

**Cinnamon Video
**Be sure to watch the Cinnamon video I made of day 18 of my trip. You will get an impression of my hotel, a tour through my hotel suite and a small impression of the city.

https://cinnamon.video/watch?v=412848608992298411

Only Coil subscribers can see the bonus pictures

Continue reading with a Coil membership.