Thailand / 3 Weeks Backpacking Trip / Day 21

After three weeks of traveling through Thailand, today my journey has come to an end. This is my last blog in which I describe my daily activities. After this blog only a blog will follow with a summary of my journey. In this blog I will give you my itinerary of my journey. If you have any topics that I need to bring along here, please let me know on Twitter!

The trip back to the Netherlands is planned for today. Around 17:00 pm I will have to go to the airport, because at 20:00 pm my plane will leave for Dubai.

Check out at the hotel

First of all, enough time to relax a bit more. Around 10:00 am I had to check out at the hotel. Here I could leave my stuff, and I could use the facilities of the hotel all day. First of all I went out for a delicious breakfast, which I found at a restaurant close to the hotel. I decided to order a bowl of fruit and yogurt for the last time. The delicious fresh fruit is something I will miss very much when I get back to the Netherlands. Nothing beats starting the day with delicious fresh mango, papaya and other exotic fruits.

Of course after breakfast I had to stop at one of the many local 7 Elevens to buy some snacks for the poolside. The convenience of the 7 Eleven on the corner is definitely also something I will miss. This store is located at about every corner in Thailand, which makes it very easy to get snacks and other food.

7 Eleven close to my hotel

The poolThe hotel's swimming pool is definitely something you already know after several blogs. However, the view for me is not boring, hopefully this also applies to you. The immense city with its many large buildings is something that keeps attracting my attention. This in combination with the chaos of the city itself gives its charms, but can eventually irritate you. Fortunately for me this was not yet the case. I could easily have lasted another week in Bangkok.

The view from the roof of the hotel

After sitting by the pool for a while it was almost time to take a cab to the airport. I decided to explore the streets of Bangkok for the last time, looking for a typical Thai meal to end my trip in Thailand. I found the restaurant about 15 minutes walk from my hotel. Here I saw a lot of Thai people enjoying their lunch break with a delicious hot meal. For me this was a good sign, when it is busy with Thai people in a restaurant, the food must be good. And I can tell you, the food was delicious. I had ordered a Thai rice dish with chicken and fresh vegetables. Unfortunately I can't remember the exact name of the dish.

Thai Food

Back to home..

After the delicious food it was time to return to the hotel to pack my things and take a cab to the airport. My cab driver was very friendly and told me that I was his last customer of the day. I asked him how many times a week he drives the cab, and he told me he does this six days a week with days up to 11 hours. When I asked him what he was going to do at home there was a friendly smile on his face. He was going to enjoy a cold beer, he told me, and play soccer with his sons.

I also asked him why there were a lot of cars driving around with a red license plate. He told me the following: The red plates are intended only to be used by new owners during the vehicle registration process. Once the registration is complete, motorists are required to switch to normal white plates. A nice fact that I didn't want to take away from you.

At the airport all I had to do was exchange my excess Thai baht for Euros, and I was ready to go.

With a satisfied feeling I was able to return home after three weeks of traveling. During this trip I saw a lot of the beautiful Thailand, did a lot of great activities, made a lot of new memories, met inspiring people, gained culture and of course I often ate delicious Thai food. I am going to miss the country, the hospitality and the chaos around me, but at the same time I am also happy to resume the “normal” life in the Netherlands.

In my last blog (somewhere next week) I will look back on my journey. So if you have any questions, or things you want to know about my trip or about the way I travel, please let me know for sure.

Thanks for reading and until the next blog! 🙏

For subscribers there are 4 exclusive pictures!

Continue reading with a Coil membership.