Travel Story & Road Trip through Eifel National Park

A few weeks ago I went on holiday with friends to Germany. This is something we try to do every year. This is not always a holiday particularly to Germany, but a holiday with friends somewhere in Europe. Unfortunately, I was unable to attend last year, as this was always the best time for me to do a backpacking trip, this due to school holidays.

This year everything was different, in February I went backpacking in Thailand. Because of this I did decide to join my friends again this summer, as it's always a lot of fun. Also, the current covid-19 pandemic would have also not made it possible to travel outside of Europe anyway.

Our Bungalow in Heimbach, Germany

Me and my friends stayed at the holiday park named Landal Eifeler Tor. It's a park with a collection of apartments and bungalows located on a beatiful mountain hill. We rented the bungalow for a week, and it had no less than 5 bedrooms, with beds for up to 10 people.

The house had a living room, dining area, flat-screens, TVs, kitchen, terrace. Also it came as a suprise to me that the house also included a private sauna and whirpool tub! 👌

Take a look to the house and beautiful view we had from the terrace.

Our house, and look at the sky! Just wow...

The view from our terrace

Had to put this segment in...

Because we were with 9 people, there was of course a lot of groceries to be done at the supermarket. Some friends went to the supermarket together and came back with the following. A car full of groceries, which all just about fitted in the fridge and other storage cabinets.

All of the groceries in my friends car 😱

One of the storage cabinets

Road Trip – Eifel National Park

Two of my friends decided it was time for a little road trip. When they asked me I couldn't say no to this. As you probably already know, I like adventures like this. So I absolutely didn't want to miss ou on this one. We were staying in Eifel National park, a park dominated by dark blue lakes and rivers, dams, as well as densely forested mountain ranges. A sight so close to home, yet so beautiful that I had to discover it. So we started our adventure, first over the dam, which was next to the park, towards what we thought the mountain passes.

The dam close to our holiday park

We couldn't really find a mountain pass route via Google. However, we encountered many motorcyclists on the way, which is always a good sign for beautiful roads. So we started out by just following them, and eventually we got there! The first signal that we were on the right track finally came to about 15 minutes. It was a traffic sign showing sharp bends and recommended speed limit.. This was it, this is what we hit the roads for that day.

So many sharp turns that they were impossible to count. They just kept coming, it was really great. Just when you thought it was ending, dozens more came. A ride so beautiful that it is almost impossible to explain in words. We drove for about four hours and only stopped twice. Once for some food, and once for a great view.

A Burger King with a view! 🍔

Cinnamon Video

Of course I can't just leave without giving you some imagination about this road trip through Eifel National Park. For this reason I shot some footage and edited a little video for on Cinnamon.

https://www.cinnamon.video/watch?v=391189527911203967

It was a nice holiday which I certainly would not have wanted to miss. I hope you enjoyed this blog (and video). In the subscriber only section I have added some bonus photos.

Thanks for reading and take care! ✌

Continue reading with a Coil membership.