How do we know Jesus rose from the dead? | Bishop Barron

I've had this YouTube video open on a browser tab on my phone for a few weeks now. I thought the question was interesting, but I never actually viewed the video until today. This 1 minute video gives a concise answer to the very interesting question of, “How do we know Jesus rose from the dead?”

In case you didn't watch the video, the answer is, the presence of the church today.

Jesus was crucified and rose from the dead, as the story goes, 2,000 years ago. Again, 2,000 years ago. Had the story of resurrection been fake, had it been fabricated, how come the church still exists today?

Surely some smart people should have been able to dispel the myth. I mean 2,000 years is a long time to come up with an explanation for it. But that also presents something interesting. A number of smart people actually believe the story...

And here's another question I have that is related to this. If His apostles just made up the story, then why go through the trouble of proclaiming what they witnessed and end up dead in the process?

Okay, so maybe they were fools to believe the story. In that case, I would have expected one, or two, or three of them to have gone on proclaiming the story and end up dead. But that's not what happened. History claims that ten of the apostles died as martyrs. They either truly lost their minds or they truly believed what they witnessed.

Tags: #Spirituality #BishopBarron #Christianity #Theology #Bookmarks

Discuss... or leave me a comment below.