Kobe Bryant and the Three-Point Lesson of His Life | Word on Fire

I knew Kobe Bryant only as a basketball player. I remember owning a pair of his first shoes from Adidas, the Crazy 8. He was a spectacular basketball player. The only other player that came close to being considered another Michael Jordan. This article though, talks about a different side of him that I never knew existed.

Link: Kobe Bryant and the Three-Point Lesson of His Life

Failure and even scandal are a part of Kobe’s life too. Suffering is a quick litmus test of what lies underneath all of the talent. In another interview, Kobe spoke about how he found his faith after dealing with some serious allegations of sexual misconduct. He said, “You can know [that God is great] all you want, but until you have to pick up that cross that you can’t carry, and he picks it up for you, and carries you and the cross . . . then you know.”

Man that's deep. Something that you'll only hear from someone who was weighed down with a heavy burden. A heavy cross as he says.

It has been confirmed that Kobe Bryant and his daughter Gianna attended 7 a.m. Mass prior to their planned trip to Mamba Academy via helicopter. In a few short hours, the summation of his life was played out: being, vocation, death, and legacy. He received Christ in the Eucharist while on a journey to his love for basketball, and I imagine that he died with his arms around his daughter. He died as a father, as a husband, and as a child of God.

I don't know why, but I felt a sense of relief knowing that, before their tragic deaths, he and his daughter visited the house of God and received communion. I cannot imagine the pain that the families involved have been going through, are still going through right now. I extend my deepest sympathies to the families involved.

Life is too short. We must always remember to live like it's our last day on earth.

Tags: #KobeBryant #WordOnFire #Bookmarks

Discuss... or leave me a comment below.