Sometimes It’s the Things We Leave Out | Dan Erickson

This post first appeared on my dev blog at dinobansigan.com. It was published back in 01/28/2019. I've updated the post and moved it here as it was not really a software development or tech related post.


A few days ago I heard an ad on TV that said something like, “people say less is more, but more is REALLY MORE!” Obviously, the intent of that ad is to get you to spend more money. We live in a world where people are judged by their material possessions. The narrative being, if you have more, then you are living a better life compared to everyone else around you. That is ridiculous.

The older I get the more I really believe that less is more. Dan Erickson wrote a post about focusing on the “less is more” mindset. It is an absolutely wonderful read.

So often we want more. We have been trained to think more is better. More money. More stuff. More success. But this idea of getting and doing more often gets in the way of our goals. ~ Dan Erickson

Visit Original Post: Sometimes It’s the Things We Leave Out

When I wrote this back in 2019, I was mostly thinking in terms of material possessions. Fast forward to today and I can't help but think that the “less is more” mindset, is also applicable to my online activities. One thing I learned during this second digital declutter, is that I definitely had too much going on with all my online activities. I mean I had five websites that I was trying to maintain for crying out loud.


This post is Day 72 of my #100DaysToOffload challenge. Visit https://100daystooffload.com to get more info, or to get involved.

Tags: #Bookmarks #SelfImprovement #DanErickson #100DaysToOffload

Discuss... or leave me a comment below.