The Simple Path to Wealth by JL Collins

Finished reading The Simple Path to Wealth a few days ago, so I thought I'll share my thoughts on it.

Why did I pick up this book? I don't exactly remember how I heard about JL Collins' book, but somehow I did and that lead me to reading the first few pages of his book. I liked what I read and decided to purchase the book. Before picking this up, I was looking for another book on personal finance that is mainly focused on getting out of debt. That wasn't exactly what this book focused on, but I liked it nonetheless.

What did I like about this book? Everything. I liked everything about this book.

What I didn't like about this book? Not really a dislike but more like a surprise. When I got this book I thought I was getting a book about how to get out of debt and build your wealth, but as I've said above, the majority of this book focuses on investing into the stock market to build your wealth and less about how to get out of debt. Again this is not a bad thing, just not what I was expecting.

For international readers, note that this book is mainly catered to US readers. Most of the discussion on 401K accounts and the tax system might not be applicable to international readers. The concepts and ideas he shares will carry over, but not the specifics that the book discusses.

Rating I give this book a 5/5 rating. The author really did share a simple path to wealth in this book. Not saying this is the best path to building wealth, but a path that should be considered because it really is simple.

Tags: #JLCollins #BookReview #PersonalFinance

Discuss... or leave me a comment below.