Thoughts on Season 1 of The Witcher

No spoiler thoughts on Season 1 of The Witcher on Netflix. It is a pretty good show. The story was interesting, though the way it was told was confusing (more on this further below). The fight scenes were great. The dialogue was funny. Geralt's one liners were hilarious. The bard Jaskier was great as comic relief. The soundtrack was pretty good too. I'm assuming the songs composed for the show were original ones? If so, they were pretty good. For awhile after watching the finale, I kept singing, “Toss a coin to your Witcher, oh valley of plenty.” Damn that song is so catchy! There is some nudity, but not enough to make me feel uncomfortable watching it around kids. Certainly not as much nudity as in Game of Thrones.

Okay, so the way they told the story was weird and confusing. The scenes that focused on Ciri represented the current/present time in the story. The scenes focused on Geralt were flashbacks. The show never tells you this though. I only figured it out 4 episodes into the show. The scenes that focused on Geralt, start as flashbacks and progress forward until you get to the last episode of the season. That is where the story of Geralt finally catches up to the present time in the story. It sounds cool now that I think about it, but it ended up confusing me. They could have handled it better I suppose. Still a really good show. I'm looking forward to Season 2.


This post is Day 3 of my #100DaysToOffload challenge. Visit https://100daystooffload.com to get more info, or to get involved.

Tags: #TVShow #100DaysToOffload

Discuss... or leave me a comment below.