Trying out Write.as as an Alternative to my Gaming Journal/Blog

I originally came up with the idea of an online gaming journal after realizing that posting on Instragram wasn't doing it for me. I wanted to share more tips, more details and I wanted my posts to be searchable, especially to myself. On the flip side, I also wanted to stop being addicted to posting on Instagram.

So I created my gaming journal/blog using Wyam, which is a static site generator for building websites. It was okay, for awhile.

I was using my wife's Macbook to write posts to my gaming blog. Which meant I would only write new posts when I'm at home. When I'm at home, my toddler usually wants my attention. So I have to go out of my way to find time to write new posts for my gaming journal/blog. I wasn't liking that aspect of it. My gaming blog was just a hobby blog, created for fun. Not being able to write new posts on it whenever I want, was somewhat stressing me out. And taking time away from my son, just so I could write a new post wasn't what I wanted to be doing. Not even a year into maintaining my gaming blog, I already started getting tired of it.

It didn't help that I seem to have lost focus on what my online gaming journal was supposed to be. It was supposed to be a journal, you know with posts akin to how you would write entries on a real journal or diary. It ended up being like a gaming blog where I wrote detailed posts about the games I was playing, like as if I was an author for one of the gaming websites/publications. That's not what I envisioned it to be, not to mention, my content was not as detailed and informative as those you would find on legit gaming blogs/websites. So I want to move away from that and focus on making my online gaming journal, well look like a real journal.

I have been looking for an alternative that will allow me to write new posts quicker/easier that was not WordPress or Blogger, and that's when I stumbled on write.as. I don't know yet that this is really the solution for me as far as my gaming journal goes, but I'm willing to give it a try.

Discuss... or leave me a comment below.