Weeknotes – 005

Content moved to... Domain Redirect via HTML and JavaScript


There's a new Head First C# book that just came out this month! I still have the first one that came out back in 2010. This was the book that started me on the C# path. If you want to learn C#, I definitely recommend picking up the new version. In fact, I'm going to buy a copy for myself as well.


I wish I had more time to write blog posts that are focused on just one topic. One issue I see with my Weeknotes post is that a single post covers a bunch of different topics. In my mind, those topics should have their own blog posts. But the fact of the matter is, I already have a day job. And it involves writing code, not writing prose. And so unfortunately, I've resorted to bundling everything up into a single Weeknotes post, just so I can get something out. It's not exactly the setup I want, but it's what works for me now.

That said, I did make an effort to try and move topics into their own posts this week. So watch out for those.


I'm going through the Gatsby tutorial and am having fun with it. I am doing the tutorial to learn how to make a static site blog using Gatsby and consequently, React. I was surprised to find that the Gatsby tutorial covers React topics really well. I think it doubles as a good intro to learning React.

I plan to switch from Wyam to Gatsby for generating my dev blog sometime in the future. I figure, if I want to master React, then I have to force myself to use it as much as I can.


Started watching Tony Robbins – I am not your guru. I haven't finished it yet. It's an interesting one that dispenses some good life advice. Here are some good quotes I've picked up from the documentary film:

Everyone needs a compelling future. Everyone needs something to move towards. If you don’t have something to move towards, you settle for where things are. ... The problem with people is that they think they shouldn’t have any problems. Problems are what makes us grow. Problems are what sculpts our souls. Problems are what make us become more. Life is happening for us, not to us. ... This is what you were made for. You were made to love unconditionally. And the more we do, the more we experience the “human” in humanity. We experience our true nature. And we feel deeply alive.

~ Tony Robbins


Finished watching Gun Gale Online. It was a pretty entertaining show. I give it a 4/5 rating.

The motivation for some characters seemed a little far fetched, but I enjoyed the show for the most part. I loved the Battle Royale fights, the combat strategies, the tactics, the duels — it was all fun to watch. I also liked that there were only 12 episodes. It didn't feel like like a drag, which is what Sword Art Online felt like at times.

I also got a kick out of the frequent references to Sword Art Online in Gun Gale Online. This idea of creating two different anime that could reference each other is genius! That does mean that you have to watch Sword Art Online Season 1 to understand the references thrown out in Gun Gale Online.


Started watching the The Mandalorian Season 2. I've watched 3 episodes so far and I think it's better than Season 1. I thought the progression of the story in Season 1 was a little unfocused. It went all sorts of directions. But in Season 2, the Mandalorian is laser-focused on his quest at hand. And so the story revolves around his all-important quest, which to me makes for a more interesting watch.


I have noticed that I have trouble finding time to create my weekly plan on Sundays. This is because I'm trying to watch over the kids the whole weekend, to give the wife a break. So I'm thinking, instead of doing the weekly plan on Sunday, maybe I should do it on Friday night instead.


When you find things you genuinely enjoy, don’t let anyone else make you feel bad about it. Don’t feel guilty about the pleasure you take in the things you enjoy. Celebrate them.

~ No more guilty pleasures! by Austin Kleon


I really enjoyed the 2020 Mazda CX-5 loaner car that I was driving while the Speed3 was in the shop. I think it's a great daily driver.


Got the Speed3 back sometime this week. Eibach Pro-kits are definitely a mild drop. It even looks stock sometimes. But having driven it for over 100,000 miles, I can tell that it is dropped.


I'm getting so much frisson listening to the Guild Wars 2 OST. I'm listening to it while doing code reviews 😀 Kinda makes me realize how I sometimes take the game's OST for granted. Listening to it outside of the game makes me want to login and play.


Watched a YouTube video talking about the Top Quality of Life Fallout 4 Mods for the Xbox One. Out of the ones presented in the video, my favorite has to be the companion tracker. Makes finding specific companions so much easier. Anyone who's played the game knows how much of a pain it can be to track down Dogmeat 😀

Tags: #Weeknotes #Blogging #Bookmarks #Meta #TVShows

Discuss... or leave me a comment below.