Ode to an Empty School Hallway

Hallway, I still remember you as you left me, as I left you, all bustle and chatter, and dropped books and erasers, my door opening into shared space on the lost Friday afternoon

Oh, Hallway, how much silence you have swallowed, since then, since March, when the last of the metal doors slammed shut; there's something close to sound still reverberating

They tell me they've adorned you with arrows, directions, paths, signs for our feet to follow, movement we must take, and in my mind, at times, we're all masked wanderers now, anxious passengers on a train with walls barren of art

Hallway, someday, you will shout again, and I promise to stand at the end, like a fly on the telescope, yelling one thing but holding the other; my heart remembers

for #openwrite http://www.ethicalela.com/july-openwrite-ode/