On vaccines and anxiety.

Let's start this blog experience. I've got to admit that today is not the best day for me to start anything new. It's been a pretty draining weekend and monday morning and it's all because my parents are now eligible to get the COVID19 vaccine in Italy.

I won't get into the details, but it's been rough and, while I'm happy they'll both get their first injection this week (hopefully), I have a lingering feeling of sadness from all of the back and forth.

This has made me once again think about my troubles with anxiety, one of the main reasons I give so much power to these situations. The anxiety of losing a parent, the anxiety of having a tough confrontation with a parent, the anxiety of feeling not respected, the anxiety of not being able to express myself when I'm upset. It's a lot to grasp.

Should I grasp it all? Now?

Give yourself some credit, they say. Don't be too hard on yourself, they say.