E is for "Effervescent"

Lists

Happy Friday everyone! I started to write this out yesterday but was promptly cut short to make way for some much-needed family movie time. No regrets, since we watched an interesting movie called Sunday Beauty Queen – it was slightly hard to watch, and I might write about it in length at another time, but it is what it is. The Filipino “resiliency” is such a romanticized trait, but I honestly think it's a silent cry for help and for change.

So on to today's order of business! I thought I'd do something different and share some of the short stories that I've always found intriguing and fun. I admit some of these came from Literature and English classes back in high school and college, but they've made such a huge impact on me that I still remember their titles off the top of my head, even years later! I've tried to find links for them as well, for the interested.

Sweet Summer by Cyan Abad Jugo

The story that marked my childhood! I definitely resonated so much with the main character because I had always been insecure about how I looked when I was younger (I still am on most days), and had always compared myself to all the other girls my age who were pretty. I've always wished the story didn't end the way it did since Sarah and Frederick looked like they had a genuine connection with each other but in a stereotypical world, boys are “taught” by society to go after the pretty ones.

The Necklace by Guy de Maupassant

I remember reading this in high school and vowing never to pretend to be someone who I wasn't. I couldn't really feel too bad for the main character in the ending because it was definitely a lesson she had to learn (the hard way, in fact), but I would never wish this on anyone either.

The Lottery by Shirley Jackson

I did a bit of research on this one and just learned that it has had two official movie adaptations (one in 1969 and another in 1996), so I'm guessing this one was pretty popular back when it was first published. Nothing, and I mean nothing, prepared me for that ending. Probably my first taste of dystopian literature? It's very chilling just to think about it.

In a Grove by Ryunosuke Akutagawa

At first, I initially hated this because we spent so much time in English class reading it. Maybe my teenage brain couldn't comprehend the nuances between each of the testimonies, but there really isn't a main “conclusion” to this story. In fact, even after watching the movie, writing a paper, and thoroughly discussing it, it really is up to the reader to believe what they want to – a very meta comparison to how news is spread in relation to the truth.

Long Walk To Forever by Kurt Vonnegut

A love story that slightly reminds me of The Notebook, but with less angst and crying. I just love the fact that maybe 60% of it was just dialogue between Newt and Catherine, but it was able to paint and evoke so many emotions from me.

Some notable stories that I need to mention as well:

Dead Stars by Paz Marquez Benitez Servant Girl by Estrella Alfon Merienda – I read this in a book called Bagets, and I'm currently trying to borrow it from the local library!

Have a good weekend!

12/100


I'm currently doing a challenge called “100 Days to Offload” – you can join in the fun too by visiting https://100daystooffload.com

If you'd like, drop me a message here – I would be absolutely thrilled to hear from you!

#100DaysToOffload #Journal #Lists