Thoughts on The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Book)

From Elisha to Reader 27th January, 2021

Dear Reader,

I completely devoured this book overnight. I had chanced on seeing the movie on Netflix and was interested to read the book after. Make no mistake, the movie was great, but the book from which they lifted the storyline is absolutely fantastic. The entirety of the book is pages and pages upon letters and notes that the characters passed between each other, with a few journal entries mixed in, and I thought it was such a clever way to write a novel! It made me wish my own letters sounded just as lovely and eloquent as theirs.

A lot of my enjoyment of the book most probably came from the fact that I listened to it as an audiobook, with different voices narrating different characters, giving to life the different personalities the story had. It was a real treat that I couldn't stop listening to it – I only paused to bathe, eat and sleep.

Wishing you well always!

Love, and kiss kiss kiss Elisha

#Book