e-books

I've been diving into the world of e-books for one simple reason: The book “The Symbiotic Planet” by Lynn Margulis costs 80€ as a paperback and 3,99€ as an e-book.

Now here's my experience:

I borrowed a Kobo reader from a friend, went to Amazon and bought the e-book. Then I realized: You only get the Kindle version and there's no easy way to decrypt it to put it on your Kobo. So I got a refund and went to Thalia.

I bought the e-book there but realized that they wouldn't easily give me a version for the Kobo but only for their Tolino reader. As a matter of fact they wouldn't give me anything in the middle of the night. Even a digital product has to wait for the next day to be delivered.

So I checked libgen.is for the book, found four different versions and downloaded the newest one with only two simple clicks. For free. THIS is how easy it should be with Amazon and Thalia if they want me to pay 3,99€.

Even worse, when I sent a mail to Thalia resigning from the contract, they didn't answer me straight for nine days. I had to call them to get my money back.

Hands up, I promise: I'll never again buy anything from Amazon or Thalia again because their user experience is outstandingly horrible and their tactic is simply insidious. I'll get my e-books for free and I hope that these companies will die a slow and painful death. They don't deserve the right to live.

And if any of you reading this consider buying stocks from those companies, I highly recommend you to not do it because my projection is: as the awareness of people for their desires and opportunities get stronger, they'll simply abandon these horrible services.

Samuel out.