Money

I love money. Not that it's important for me to have much of it but I love how it enables me to do stuff. And I love how it fulfils a function in our society that nothing else can. It's just how we think about it that causes all our problems, but money itself doesn't think.

This is a lesson I learned bit by bit, but if you want to dive in head first, here's a good mentor I found this year. Don't take him too serious but think about what he says.

Connect this to the idea of the Tao Te Ching or Karma or any other spiritual wisdom tradition and it makes perfect sense.

Connect this to the idea of taking full responsibility for your own life and you'll likely end up doing something like this:

Personally, I am quite far away from this ideal, but bit by bit I'm getting there, automating more and more of my finances, reducing liabilities and diversifying my assets. It's almost as simple as that.

Here, by the way, is the rest of the interview, which I haven't seen yet, but the 10 points seem quite valid on first glance:

What he says in part 2 about building your own infrastructure seems to me parallel to some of the things that Derek Sivers says in his book Anything You Want:

That you should just start right now, that you don't need any funding, and that no funding can actually be an advantage.

But it's all not hitting the key point yet.