Packed Lunches, March 2020

Things I made for work lunches in March.

Week of 3/2/20:

Turkey Meatballs

Turkey Meatballs with Roasted Chickpeas and Beets

I've been trying endless variations on this recipe for sheet pan meatballs. Sweet potatoes have been a great seasonal substitute for cherry tomatoes, and I wanted to try it with beets. A combination of spicy meatballs, chickpeas, beets, feta, parsley, and pasta is very satisfying.

Week of 3/7/20:

Lamb Curry

Lamb & Dried Apricot Curry

This curry recipe is from the Hermes House Indian cookbook, as is the spiced lentils and rice — both have complementary spicing, and both recipes are very easy (the rice cooks exactly like mujaddara, which I can do in my sleep by now). I first tried these last summer and now they're part of my longer-term rotation. Here I served the curry with cilantro, a roasted cranberry sauce that I spiced as I would peach or mango chutney, and yogurt on the side.

Pupusas

Pupusas with Curtido and Fried Plantain

Nice, hot masa cakes stuffed with cheese; a cabbage salad with oregano, red pepper, pineapple juice, and vinegar that's been pickling in the back of my fridge for a few months; and some simple fried plantains. Everything is very brown, but whatever.

...After this point, my workplace was ordered to shut down and I switched to eating everything at home.

#PackedLunches