Activate previews for remote files in Dolphin

I really like #KDE. Here's however something that took me half an hour to figure out (after annoying me on and off for weeks.)

By default KDE Dolphin (at least in my KDE Neon installation) doesn't show previews for photos on my NAS.

It turns out there is a setting in Dophin to skip generating previews for files over a certain size. It also turns out that size is 0MB by default. Here is how to to change it:

Choose "Configure Dolphin..." on the "Control" menu to open the "Dolphin Preferences" dialog box.

then increase the size limit from 0 to something else:

In the "Dolphin Preferences" dialog box, increase the "Skip previews for remote files above:" from 0MB to something more, I've set it to 15MB in the screenshot above.

Enjoy previews.

(That said, I enabled this 20 minutes ago, there might be a reason why this wasn't enabled by default.)

Filed under: #KDE #KDEGotchas #troubleshooting