Not Everyone Will Experience the Same Outcomes

Silhouet of a Therapist giving Advice Image by Donate PayPal Me from Pixabay.

One of my Mastodon connections just sent me a message today. I'm used to using dating websites, so that's not a problem at all. This guy advises me to network with some local small businesses because I'm looking for work. They also advised me to send physical letters along with links to my resume as not everyone has access to printers due to the high cost of ink. If I need something printed, which is rare, I go to Staples. And this person ended the toot by saying that they had done the same and it had worked for them, and they were confident I would experience the same success.

The issue of giving others advice

What works for you won't work for everyone. Everyone is unique. Hence, the counsel you offer won't necessarily produce the same outcomes. It holds true for all blogs and articles that discuss how to carry out tasks, generate income online, and other topics. Whatever advice you provide won't apply to everyone.

There are Introverts Out There

Networking is not for everyone. Otherwise, not everyone has an outgoing personality. There are locations where introverts can seek assistance, but it won't really change anything. They cannot simply go on from it. A personality attribute is shyness.

Men Please Don’t Give Unsolicited Advice To Women

Please, and I don't want to be sexist, refrain from offering women unsolicited advice.

That your wife or girlfriend might not always want you to come over and take care of their troubles is the advice I'm referring to in this sentence. Here, I'm referring to communication. Let's say a woman complains about her experiences when she gets home from work. Don't discuss how to improve her working position. You weren't present when she was. They only want you to listen to them and give them comfort. Because if you truly want to solve their issues, you can find yourself gaslighting them by asking, “Why didn't you do that?”

Men aren't the only ones who believe they can resolve another person's problem, either. That's how some women think as well. That is how my mother is. The same is true for those who want to be heard over having their concerns solved.

Those Who Are Receiving the Advice

Keep your expectations in check. Individuals that offer you advise presume that you will experience the same thing they did, not taking individual differences into account. They probably do this to enhance their appearance, despite the fact that they are simply people like the rest of us. Even when offering uninvited advice, they occasionally make mistakes.

So, I'll just tell you to follow your own route. Even if someone forces you to, you don't have to heed their advice. You can listen to it all you want.