Playing to your strengths

“I’m considering leaving the startup space.” – so I told a certain someone who has been a veteran in this space.

Without a doubt, I was sure I’d hear the following..

No, don’t jump to conclusions. Take your time.’

‘Don’t let an experience define you and who you are. Be brave.’

I heard none of that.

Instead, I heard an honest, blunt,

“Might be a good call.” followed by “Meet people and then make a call.”

What lingered below that comment I wondered.

Am I not fit for it? Why is this a good call?

After a few follow-up questions and then some reflection, here’s what I learned:

Playing to your strengths

Giving yourself the time to think, evaluate, and most of all honest reflection on your journey so far is so critical.

Having someone by your side is important to show you the mirror, and give you unadulterated advice.

But then, isn’t this what I know? That’s all I have done all my life?

That’s the scary part, starting afresh. Doing something different and starting off all alone.

My idea might be new, and the business likely different, but my skills have evolved as a founder, a business person, and most of all human path I travel. – My purpose.

Let’s see where life takes me