What I believe dating as a straight woman would feel like.

DISCLAIMER: I am not a straight woman, and I welcome input by all straight women with regards to this post to correct me if I am wrong. I also choose not to date or engage in sexual activity with anyone.

I feel like that if I dated as a straight woman, the whole experience would be, for the most part, quite depressing. Most of my potential dates look ugly on the outside, and if that is not the case or even a concern, they may be ugly on the inside with a terrible personality and repressive beliefs, reducing me to a sex toy and/or a baby making machine, or just a robot. Not to mention my potential partner may feel incredibly insecure about taking up certain pursuits or modes of expression for being seen as “feminine” or “gay”.

If I were not seen with a man though, I would be considered “incomplete” because of repressive beliefs people hold about gender (largely influenced by socially conservative or even fascist religious and philosophical beliefs) – some women have sadly considered this instrumental to their self worth, their attractiveness to men. My potential partner would also do little to maintain the health of the relationship too in large part from gender roles and would not help out physically as much too.