FreeTube Release 0.7.3 Beta – Video Bug Fixes

Hello everyone! I hope that everyone has been doing well recently. If you feel like you haven't heard from me in a while, then that means that you haven't read my last few updates. I highly recommend you give those a read when you're done here. The TLDR is that I've been spending a lot of time rewriting FreeTube in the past few months and there won't be many updates to the live release while I work on it. Today's update will be about fixing a few things that have been causing problems with FreeTube recently.

Video Playback Issues

There's been a few issues recently with videos not playing properly. There's been 2 different reasons for this. The first reason is that there was a very slight change in the Invidious API which was a very simple fix. The other issue has to do with the “Grab Videos Locally” functionality. The module that I use has once again become out of date and a quick update will fix this as well.

With these two fixes, videos should play a bit better than before.

Other Changes

There were also a few other small changes made.

Conclusion

I understand that after a few months of no updates that a small fix like this isn't the most exciting news to hear. If you really want to see some exciting news, I once again recommend you go back to some of my previous blog posts and learn a little more about the progress going on with the rewrite. The rewrite has come a long way and is quite usable in it's current state.

As always, you can talk about the latest release and other FreeTube related things over on Reddit, Matrix, Mastodon, or GitHub. I'm looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

You can download the new release over at our website.

If you like what I do, please consider donating through Liberapay.

Take care!

NOTE: Packages are not signed and your virus protection may take notice. Please check out the F.A.Q. for more info.