Virtue: Fertility

The Dedicant Handbook defines fertility as follows: “Bounty of mind, body and spirit, involving creativity, production of objects, food, works of art, etc., an appreciation of the physical, sensual, nurturing.” Sticking with Collins English Dictionary, their definition is: “1. the quality, state, or degree of being fertile; fecundity; 2. the birthrate of a given population.”

 Exercise 1: Who and What Is Fertile? Identifying specific fertility examples as a virtue is an interesting exercise in the various ways to interpret ‘fertility.’ Fertility can be physical or mental and spans a wide array of action. I first think of Galileo Galilei’s pursuit of knowledge and propensity to invent and create. He was one of the most prolific creators in history and a great example of fertility. Many small farmers in my area demonstrate fertility in their tireless efforts to produce crops that feed the world. I believe that I, like many people, have periods of fertility and periods where I am not so productive. I believe the average person is fertile as the need or desire surfaces and they cycle through fertile periods.

 Exercise 2: Examining Definitions: I find the Collins Dictionary definition lacking in any modern interpretation of fertility. The Dedicant Handbook definition spans the course of humanity from ancient activities to our modern resourcefulness. Being fertile was once an exclusive term for childbearing, husbandry, and horticulture. However, the word originates from the Latin ‘fertilitas’ meaning fruitful and abundant. As a fertile person, one can be a producer of life or of creative expression and activity.

 Exercise 3: Seeking the Mythology and History: People may view fertility as focused on creation of life in historical settings but it is not exclusive. Michelangelo was a fertile creator and created awe-inspiring art in a world where such creations were not commonplace. Ēostre is not only a prominent fertility goddess but evolved into a modern springtime celebration of fertility. Fertility is commonly seen among those in the arts too.

 Exercise 4: The Virtue and the Self:  Defining fertility in myself is difficult because I have experienced a huge variation in my life. I have produced one child, but I would say I have failed in reference to propagating my family name. In my military career, I have experienced periods where I have created new and exciting breakthroughs in technology in my duties. This is not just typical productivity but new applications and processes that have never been done before. I have also experienced periods where my fertility dwindled and I was complacent about my creativity. After completing my second Master’s Degree, I did not want to do anything involving study or creation for several years… I simply had burned out.

 Exercise 5: Your Understanding of the Virtue: Fertility is defined perfectly in the Dedicant Manual as it applies to our druidry, and after careful research and self-deliberation, I do believe it is a virtue. I was initially inclined to contest this virtue but now understand how fertility is more than just producing offspring. It is giving birth within our minds and with our hands. It is creation and expression in many aspects of our lives, from arts to sciences. Inventors and scientists, artists, writers, and programmers are just a few of the people who must express fertility in their work. Those of us seeking to work with the divine in druidry must be able to express fertility in our works!

  

Works Cited

 https://www.adf.org/members/training/dp/dp-manual-web/index.html

https://www.collinsdictionary.com/us/dictionary/english/fertility

https://www.dictionary.com/browse/fertility