My Uncle

When I moved to work in Portland, Oregon, my Aunt and Uncle helped me land and localize. My father had grown up in the area.

My Uncle Dick had recently retired, and was the most happiest, amused retired person I know. As a child of the depression era he took little for granted in life, and as a result much of what he received he viewed as a gift. His good humor and curiosity enveloped everything he did.

Having grown up on a dairy farm, he'd had plenty of cholesterol-rich food. His doctor cited that as a particular worry.

Uncle Dick took the news with characteristic good humor. He was genuinely amused to change his diet. His rationale seemed to be: change now or life gets harder right away; and you have less of it, too.

So he did. His approach was simple: 'let's enjoy trying healthy new food' rather than 'look wistfully back at old habits'. If he regretted his changes? I didn't hear much of it.

And that's the crux of both losing your weight and improving health overall: behavior change, habit change, lifestyle change. It's easy to start, much harder to follow through.

My realization, many years later: a similar talking to from my doctor was on its way for me. (Maybe I'd already had it, to some degree.) I really owe a lot to his approach.