Reads, monks, vampires

Not so much happening right now — I’ve got back into the ‘reader’ state of being so in my mind there are books, movies, poems and sweet chaos.

In a Sun’s full circuit I've finished “Empire V”. In one gulp, so to say. Amazing book, as expected – now I'm thrilled about it's movie adaptation coming out by the new year.

Next on agenda was a translation of some japanese self-help book aimed to boost confidence, self-awareness (and, to a certain degree, egoism) – but it’s obvious and mostly predictable dialogue format made pace of my reading become much slower.

Until then, old movies: Panic in High School (1978) – nice; Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence (1983) – astonishingly good. Also, try checking out Maiku Hama movies if you enjoyed absurd movies Suzuki Seijun and Oshii Mamoru have made. I'd classify it as “goofy noire” – first movie was enjoyable.

Meanwhile, the word “koan” suddenly came into my attention, so I’ve decided to read some for some spiritual education and fun (the two sides of zen buddhism). Being through The Gateless Gate I want to admit it changed my attitudes towards the zen way and the sense of humor. Particularly recommend as inspirational and flabbergasting.

Also, I’ve found the sound of RAW’s recorded voice very calming – so if you’re currently lying on the floor and staring at the familiar or maybe unfamiliar ceiling, his short (hour and a 15') lecture inspired by the book of the same name may entertain you. Me, it did – and reminded to join first psychological study group I’ll encounter (or at the very least that esoteric club discovered in the vicinity).

Another news: – I’ve met a publisher who is keen on going to Japan and who has a lot to share about unofficial printing, so a lot of discussion awaits! I enter that meeting as a “Great encounter”; – Some people on the streets of Taiwan are using lasers to disrupt face-recognizing surveillance systems by using lasers – if you live under the government with a low “freedom” rating, expect lasers to be banned in a few years (if they aren’t yet!). – Encountered an old friend online and now bound to some embarrassment and past-blasting. – Sold the guitar and bid it farewell. Figuring out whether to keep the keyboard. – Place where I ate unique sweets since I was 4 finally closed. Still breeding over the loss, considering trying making these sweets myself (probably after installing fire alarm though).