Can you really manipulate someone just because they seem clueless? Is there a direct correlation between cluelessness and susceptibility to control, one that escalates with increasing cluelessness?

I doubt that. The sheer billions funneled annually into marketing efforts to get people buy stuff strongly debunk the notion that people are easily controlled.

But there is such an ascending curve for predictability. I can't control but I can predict. In some way it's positive, helps me stay out of the way. But it's mostly a source of anger and frustration. Individually, and even more as a group, I can anticipate their decision process and foresee outcomes even before they recognize a decision is being made within their own minds. The only thing that stands between me and constantly predicting what's next for them is my desperate hope that I'll be wrong. Anger because usually their actions violate principles I hold dear. Like respecting nature, other species, thinking as a whole planet to preserve and not as one dick to satisfy. Anger because I know the next scene of the movie, I have already seen the rushes, and they keep playing it anyway.

I'm often dumb myself.