What Motivates You

When you think about what motivates you—what comes to mind?

Here is a short list off the top of my mind.

Does motivation even work? I'm not sure. I think on some level it does. It is like a carrot at the end of a stick and you are the hawse. Or maybe you're the jockey. It's worth exploring...

I think it's best to not focus on the carrot, but as the feeling of the entire jockey and horse. You are on a path, or maybe a race, but where is it going? The Unknown is very real and much of it is completely out your control. How can you steer the ship, or...er...horse back to where you'd like to go? I find The Journey much more fascinating than the carrot. What happens when you get the carrot? You're just going to want a different carrot. A bigger carrot. When does it end? It doesn't. When will enough be enough? It won't?

What can we focus on then?

If the carrot isn't inherently motivating, then what's the point? Like I had mentioned, I think the point is to focus on The Journey. The Journey is much more fascinating to me. For example, as I'm writing this, I could focus on a million different things. What is my why? Perhaps I don't really need a why other than pure curiosity and creativity. It's so easy to get caught up in material things that we think will make us happier in the future. We all know this is sort of b.s. already, don't we? I mean, sure, it's good to have goals. Absolutely. Goals are important because it is like having something to focus on and have something in mind to chase after. It's not guaranteed to make you happier though. Things will be different at the later date. You may not even want what you are currently craving anymore. There has to a thing bigger than ourselves here, doesn't there? What is it?

We can focus on the energy of things. What is it you wish to explore? How would you choose to express yourself?

Money as a Motivator

Can money be seen as a motivating factor? Money is a dead-end. If you chase money, the more you will end up looking foolish. It is best not to start with money as your eye on the prize. Why is this? Perhaps because it doesn't really mean that much after all. Sure, money helps solve certain things. It helps you buy things such as food, furniture, or shiny objects. If you keep chasing money, you will end up feeling empty in the end. If you have no money to start with when you are creating, but your main motivation is money—how rich are you when you do become rich?

Creator

What motivates me as a creator? I think it's when the World fades away and I am just left alone to focus on my writing. It's from this pure place where I can focus and relax and just write. I get caught up in a lot of stuff in my mind like fear and worry. It's hard for me to focus. I am using an app called OmmWriter that is helping me. The internet is a very distracting place.

The Box

I find myself in The Box a lot. The Box is my room. I cleaned it this week which helps me focus. I still need to clean my desk and make my room more of my own. I am going for an industrial/productive/90s-esque vibe. I spend too much time in The Box. I need to find the balance and keep things simple.

Focus

The flow state is what I'd like to talk about though as motivation. I think this is a good place to focus what is important to me. It's like the journey and not the path. Things that pop in my mind when I get too caugh up in stuff in just my own head. Things like money, making rent, paying for bills, wanting to buys things, wanting to go places, etc. I know this is normal. It's hard though because I know I spend way too much time in front of the computer. I would feel better if the time I was spending on was conscious though.

What I Want to Motivate Me

What I want to motivate me is intangible. It is expanding my consciousness. It is raising my awareness. It is following the path with a heart. It is stepping out of my comfort zone. It is being comfortable with being uncomfortable. It is building my skills-especially those lacking :cough: socializing :cough:.

I feel inspired by things that are shifts in my mind that help me grow (and grow up). I like learning and changing who I am for the better. I like stretching myself. I like leaning into action even if its scary to do so. I love learning through other people who are where I'd like to take myself. I am intrigued by reality and want to understand it better. I want to grow and help others grow too.

I need to remind myself that this is my life I'm living. I make the rules for the playground. I don't control everything of course, but I'd like to have more fun here. It's scary sometimes when I think about time too much. Time feels like it is slipping away and I am in a race to catch up. I need to remind myself of this and not get sucked into the things that don't matter as much. It's fine to relax but I also want to keep my eye on the prize. It's all a “waste of time”, so why not enjoy it?