ASU Jazz Concert Tonight

I cancelled today's Hairy Larry's Merry Pranksters rehearsal so I could attend the ASU Jazz Concert tonight at the Fowler Center. I could have done both but not and have supper too and I really like to eat. Besides with the whole Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday thing this week I already had too much on my plate. Do you see what I did there? I like to eat but I don't like too much on my plate.

The concert tonight has two big bands playing, the Lab Band and the ASU Jazz Orchestra. Always a good time. I see my friends in the audience and on the stage. The music is great. And it's free. Come if you can.

I also want to give a shout out to Oliver Prehn for his New Jazz tutorials on Youtube. He has a lot of them and all his lessons are free. His theory is sound but he teaches technique first and then explains the theory. I'm a theory gear head but not everyone is into that so I appreciate Oliver's approach.

Here's the video I found today. It's the start of a series. Once he gets a hold of me I have to continue. I can't stop learning from him.

Left hand chords: “minor 7” and “suspended” chord progressions https://youtu.be/eqZoKKnf9i8

So if, like me, you are obsessed with jazz piano check out his videos.