Being impatient ....

The Dutch are weird, really weird. In the last year I learned more about them then in the last 40 years. Yes, I thought I knew them, I thought I knew how they think, how they act, etc... I was so wrong. It might explain why I left the Netherlands and why I thought about leaving years before I did. In this post I will try to explain it.

I did spend some time in other Countries. I enjoyed it and wondered why. Is it my open nature, or my closed nature that stops me from getting my feet wet? I now assume it's neither.

Once Corona, Covid-19, made a mess of the world I noticed that the Dutch started to look for ways to simply ignore rules. The sad thing is that we are not the only ones but for now I will concentrate on the Dutch since I was able to look at them from the outside.

What happened? Well, I did know the Dutch are able to nag about anything they do not like, I'm Dutch too, I should understand. So once the rules for closing down parts of the system the Dutch started to find loopholes. They simply started to state it is impossible to work with the rules since it will take away peoples freedom. He, hello, we have a pandemic, act like we have it.

No, the Dutch started to ignore it.

“We can go to Austria, we simply are on the Hills with lot's of good air”. “It isn't worse then the flu” “People died due to the flu too” “I can't breathe with a mask” “I simply need a party” “I am a student, I need people around me”

It goes on and on and on and on .....

And then there are commercial broadcasters. Every morning they start with statements that sector xyz are having a bad time. Hairdressers are going broke, Bars and Restaurants will not survive...

To be honest, all those companies are getting money, well, most of them. Fact is that we simply are in a lock-down for nearly a year and we will need to avoid contacts for the near future. Yes, kaboem, companies will not survive. It is hard but it are facts. There is a world wide crisis and we need to adapt. The Dutch are looking differently towards failure, we can, in this case, learn from other countries. Stop your business and start over when you can. Sure, it is hard, but can your customers help? Hardly, try to understand that good things sometimes stop