WHAT'S THE REAL DEAL WITH CONTEMPORARY CHRISTIAN MUSIC?

I love all styles of Christian music, I am not a big fan of tradition, and by that I mean, I don't believe every gospel song, has to be sung out of an hymnal but neither do I believe in the dangerous turn contemporary gospel music has taken. Let me be clear, I am not saying every Christian artist have taken this route and I am truly thankful for the one's who have made the decision to defend their faith and when they sing, there is no guessing who their Savior is. There have been times when I hear a contemporary song and I have a difficult time deciding whether or not it's a gospel or love song I am listening to. I listen to Christian music extensively and have been doing this for many years, so I am not speaking as one, who has limited knowledge about such matters. The thing that frightens me about this form of music, is the fact that it's trending towards compromise. The name of God and Jesus is visibly absent from these songs. You don't hear anything about the Cross of Christ and the shedding of His blood for our sins. But why? There are several reasons. It's done intentionally to appease men. So many of these record labels are promising greater commercial success or the popular phrase they call cross over appeal. This is their way of saying, if you leave out the names of God and Christ as well as any overtly Scriptural references, we can reach the younger generation but who is really benefiting here? The artist or the label. I have zero respect for those artists because you have forsaken Christ. He gave His everything by dying on a Cross for your sins and you are going to sell out for fame and fortune. Why even bother to serve Him? If you are not going to serve Him, without fear or compromise, what then is your real purpose? I can't even recall to mind, the numerous times my family and I are shopping somewhere and we hear one of these Christian songs with no references to God or Christ and we all begin to chuckle, because we know, that if they knew, that the genre was gospel, I guarantee you that would be the last time that music gets played. My prayer is that those who are engaged in this sinful behavior, will turn aside from the trappings of the world, and pursue the righteousness of God, which is through faith in Christ Jesus. One of these days you will have to stand before the Lord Jesus and give an account of yourself and I doubt very much that the people you are trying to please will be able to speak on your behalf. published with write.as