Taking Another Swing at Blogging

Inspired by WeblogPoMo2024 (https://weblog.anniegreens.lol/weblog-posting-month-2024), I've decided to try to blog again. I'm four days late to the party but there's no time like the present.

Through the years, I've had many blogs and I almost always took them down after an arbitrary period of time. Typically this is because I've felt vain or exposed or I ran out of steam. I've realized that blogs that are simple outlets can be ephemeral and/or infrequently updated.

For some time now I've had a goal in the back of my mind to start re-publishing old posts from my old blogs as well as some of the older pages I've had on my websites. I have a great deal of archives and I think it's something I don't want to automate. Going over the posts manually and re-creating them might be a nice trip down memory lane. The advent of markdown and services like WriteFreely may make this a little easier.

I'm going to modify the WeblogPoMo2024 challenge a bit. I'm going to make an earnest effort for 14 days to post daily. This will help me build up a new series of posts and it will let me get the most out of my trial run of a write.as subscription. If this doesn't work out, I might try another 14 days with a static site generator.

So far, I like write.as. I can export my posts and it feels a lot like projects such as Federated Wiki (https://fed.wiki.org). A clean combination of new web technologies, tried and true plain text, modern federation, and minimal UI. I believe this will set me up for success in this challenge.

Given that these posts are simply markdown, I can draft posts in Markor Notes on my phone wherever I happen to be. I can also work on them directly in my text editor before pasting them into the wonderful distraction-free UI that WriteFreely provides.

Looking forward to seeing how this progresses!