Tools I use

Not too long ago I started replacing propriety services/software with open-source ones after an incident with a propriety app lead to me losing something important.

So far here's my list of apps and services I've replaced with an open-source/free software alternative.

Computer Drek

Btw I use Arch. Sorry, I couldn't resist. (If you're wondering, there's a stereotype that Arch users will tell you right off if they're using the distro unprompted.)

I've been an Arch user since..the late 2000s? On and off, because from 2011 to 2015 I had a certain fruit-flavored laptop that was primarily a Mac OS X shop.

My first setup was on an economy-class Acer laptop with an H key that would fall off every time I used it and that I would need to charge after every class in university. I loved it.

I use Arch as my primary OS on both my work (Dell XPS 15 9560) and personal laptops (a Thinkpad T480).

The former has been...disappointing in terms of compatibility because our (former) IT person at work got that from a Costco sale. It's a great machine, but I need to do quite a bit of tinkering to get it to work well. More work than it took to set up my Thinkpad.

But anyway...this is starting to be like those annoyingly long personal posts that precede recipes on food blogs.

Apps

I'm in the process of replacing all the crap I used. I used the propriety drek on my old personal laptop (a crapple machine).

Services