Dream of labor.. Why would anyone dream of labor?

I recently failed another interview – not surprising. I know myself now, more or less.. I do not want to give the company name, but in case I reference it later, lets called this company K. I was not expecting any different from myself.

In one of the rounds, this particular person was assessing me for my cultural fit. I think it is a nicer way of saying she was trying to figure out if I was a douchebag or not. I am not a douchebag. I am depressed, unhappy and going through very difficult times. But I am not a douchebag.

She asked me, with exaggerated motions, with a theatrical tone: What makes you want to wake up and go to work? What is your passion? What is your biggest motivation?

I said, pay-check. 💸 She was surprised, shocked and was not expecting that answer! I think at that moment the decision was made. There was an awkward silence. We looked at each other in our Zoom screens. I was just being honest..

Do employees, excluding company owners, really have other motivations? If yes, where are they? All of my friends, my wife, everyone I know.. None of them has any motivation except their salary. How many people would leave their jobs if they knew they would still get paid? I am assuming more than half of the work force? I can see that it can be fun growing your empire if you are a big boss, you can have so much wealth that money is not a motivation anymore.. But for me.. For people like me.. Why would I have any sort of motivation to work 8 hours a day, everyday, for someone else except getting paid?

Who knows, maybe I would have get rejected either way. Maybe I failed the technical rounds too. Of course I am incapable of the task they would have given me.. No way I could do any of them.

Failing an interview is not the worst thing – constantly failing interviews is on the other hand is one of the worst things that you can experience in your late 30s. Losing hope – losing hope is the worst.

G7pRB574FpU