my dad's a tory leaver

I know, I know. It's not so bad. He's a great dad. But his politics sometimes leaves me tearing my hair out.

My dad seems to vote according to personality. He's not stupid. He will engage with policy to an extent. But when backed into a corner, he'll revert to who he'd rather have a beer with. Or who he thinks he'd be able to have a laugh with.

Apparently that man is Boris.

the black sheep

I stand out in my family in a number of ways, but I often find myself feeling particularly conspicuous when the topic of politics comes up.

I am socially and fiscally liberal. I tend to align most strongly with the Green Party, but I'm pleased with the direction Labour is taking.

My working class (very big, extended) family seem to be a lot more socially and fiscally conservative. The Green Party is nowhere on their radar. (Except maybe one cousin.)

My grandma is a bit racist. (Who's isn't?) The immigrants are to blame. Especially the Muslims. She's also a bit homophobic. I'm increasingly vocal in challenging her bigotry. But we love each other anyway. I'm sure I'm her favourite.

On the whole, they seem to vote for parties that, to me, don't appear to be taking the country in a direction that's kinder to them. Sure, it's spun that way.

I could be entirely wrong. But I'm yet to be convinced. Especially by my working class family.

apathetic mother

My mum thinks they're all the same.

“It's all swings and roundabouts.”

“They're all liars.”

“Nothing will change.”

“My vote doesn't matter.”

Every election, I try to convince her to vote. I tell her it doesn't matter who she votes for (it does), as long as she gets up to vote. (One challenge at a time, right?)

How can one accept so readily the idea that others are deciding one's destiny?

She tells me she'll vote this time. I hope she's being honest!

worry for their future

My parents are getting older. My grandma is already there.

How can they keep voting for (or, at least, keep not voting against) a party that is slowly dismantling the institutions that will make the autumn and winter of their lives more comfortable?

They won't be able to afford care for themselves.

And to whom does the buck fall? Certainly not my brother; he won't have enough money to look after them either, in all likelihood. It will be me.

My parents, and grandparent, of a generation that has benefited from substantial social security until now, will rely upon me, a millennial funding this state-sponsored ponzi scheme.

I hate that I feel this inter-generational jealousy and bitterness. But it is there. And I'm yet to reconcile it.