Old Gods

#27days27stories Prompt No. 3

I've traveled to a lot of worlds and heard about a lot of gods. Some young, some old, some exceptional, some common. I'd say they were all the same if I believed they all came from the same place.

If I believed they came from deep within the human psyche, I'd call them imaginary gods. If I believed they were remnants from the days when Saturn ruled the sky and Mars fought with his electric might, I'd call them sun gods.

But I don't. I don't believe in gods at all.

I believe in people, and I believe people are malevolent by nature, only sometimes against our own will. We hurt each other when we're not trying and kill each other when we are. We destroy our worlds and then rebuild them so we can dismantle them more slowly, more painfully the next time.

If we need anything, it's not a god. It's a Savior.