The Window

#27days27stories Prompt No. 7

I don't get lost, but I wander. With conscious intention, I open doors no one else notices, step over and under arbitrary barriers, and walk down nameless streets. Wherever magic calls, I follow. I explore.

My wandering sometimes leads to bold and awe-inspiring discoveries, and other times to moments quiet and profound. Today was one of those times. I passed a narrow street lit only by the dim glow of a lamp inside a balcony window, and the pull of magic tingled across my skin. Something bridging the worlds lay in wait. Maybe a portal or an artifact, or maybe one of the tiny apartment residents was a traveler.

Without missing a stride, I turned down the street, and my feet automated my steps over the loose bricks softly clacking beneath my weight. The warmth of the lamplight pulled at me like a breeze tugging a kite string, the tugging of one traveler's magic on another.

I stopped below the balcony and gazed through the window open to the muggy night air, and she looked down with wide, curious eyes. All young travelers discover magic through curiosity, and we never stop following it. We can't.

Watching me from her perch, I saw the familiar glint in her eyes that told me everything. Even though her travels had only just begun, she'd never stop wandering. I smiled and said, “It's a nice night to open a window.”

“This isn't a window.” She said it matter-of-fact, because she knew I felt it, too, the vibrating chords of a portal playing in our veins.