Holding a Leica M

Jack self-portrait with Leica M3 Self-portrait with Leica M3 (Leica MP. Summilux 50mm ASPH. HP5 Plus)

I've used many wonderful film cameras from many different systems: From Nikon F to Hasselblad V to Linhof, Olympus OM, etc.

They are all great in their own ways, but none of them comes close to making me feel the way I feel when picking up a Leica M camera.

Sure, every film camera is essentially “a box for holding a lens and some film” but calling a Leica M “just another film camera” is to me like calling Jesus Christ “just another homeless dude”.

OK, that's probably an exaggeration, but you get my point. The way a Leica M is built and shaped fits my hand and the way it works fits my brain like no other camera. And no other camera makes me want to just pick it up and hold it, even if there's no film in it.

The only time that “The best camera is the one you have with you” is when the one you have with you is an M 😆.

I mean, just look at this MP! Tell me you don't want to pick it up and fondle it a little.

Leica MP Leica MP (Black Paint)

#Photography #Leica

Discuss...