«

The Day I Suspected Michael Had Cheated on Me

It was late in the evening, and the smell of cooking stew filled the house. Michael had just left for work, leaving me on my own with the kids. This was part of our daily routine, nothing out of the ordinary, until a phone call interrupted our dinner.

A policeman, it was, asking if a certain make and plate number matched those of the car we owned. A little disheartened, I had to agree with the police officer, who continued to inform me that it had been found parked at a double yellow line, just in front of a theatre. It was the theatre close to the restaurant where Michael works at. I thanked the policeman, trying to hide the dissatisfaction this unpleasant news had caused me.

I returned to the dining room, thinking about the ghastly sum of £100 that was asked as a fee for collecting the car. I finished my meal in silence, resolving to call Michael's work after the kids had gone to bed. There was something fishy here. The fact that the car was found by the theatre was no coincidence.

Indeed, when I called Michael's boss, he said in so many words that Michael was fired and that he had been seen flirting and having a jolly good laugh with a stunning girl at a theatre. Again, I thanked him, but hurriedly this time because the knot in my throat loosened up when I burst into tears.

I had suspected for a while that Michael was being dishonest. There was nothing much I could do now, I thought, but wait until my husband arrived and reprimand him. It was high time he faced the consequences of his actions.

#Prose