«

Lost in the City

It is always suggested to investigate about the city you're travelling to. I did not use to give much thought to this advice before, but eventually, I learnt there's a reason why everyone gave it to me, and I learnt it the hard way.

I had just come back from a weekend trip to Belfast. The ferry arrived at quarter to six in the morning to Beatles city. I was meant to take a train from Liverpool to Sheffield in two hours' time, so I looked up the way to the station in Google Maps and went my way.

After twenty minutes of walking and carrying two heavy bags,, I stopped in my tracks in the middle of a small park. I realised aghast that I had to cross the Mersey. Fear gripped my heart when I saw there were no ferries crossing from side to side at that time of day. Anyway, I had no money to pay for it either, I had less than £15 cash on me. Perhaps I could call a cab and ask if I could pay with my credit card.

By this moment I was already sobbing desperately, looking up for transport services. I called a cab company, but I could not tell where I was, and they did not accept cards anyway. Maybe, I thought I could walk along the Mersey bank to reach my destination. However, that would take me three hours, according to Google, and I needed to be at the station in less than one.

As I miserably walked back to the dock, through the tears I identified an Underground sign. Intrigued, I walked through the door underneath and scanned the stations it travelled to. One of them was Liverpool Station. Apparently the tube went all the way under the river. I praised the Lord under my breath and paid my £2.50 ticket. I did not miss my train. Experience is a hard teacher, but oh, do you learn.

#Prose