«

My Friend Is a Gold-Digger · version I

(Look at them both. Acting like they were already married.) “My goodness! That necklace lights up the whole party!” (In front of all these important people.) “It puts the stars to shame!” (She must always be the star.) “I say, why don't we take a stroll down to the...” (Always the centre of attention, the little schemer, the..) “...the beach! Why don't you come along, Maria?” Consuela reached out her hand to her.

Maria snapped out of her thoughts and instantly pulled her most charming smile. “Why of course, darling!” She took hold of another crystal glass of rosé and joined her friend and her little group of admirers.

They walked along arm in arm, a little behind the rest, alone. (Scrawny little arm.) “What a wonderful evening!” Consuela sighed as she breathed in the sea breeze. (Mine is thrice as thick.) “Indeed it is, dear. You're looking like a million dollars.” Agreed Maria. (As is the rest of my body.) Consuela cracked out a laugh. “Far more, actually.” (Obviously). “Birthday present?” “Obviously.” Consuela beamed. (Obviously.) “I really must congratulate you, honey!” Maria gave her friend's hand a friendly squeeze, which the other returned. “How ever did you manage it?” (I have a fair idea of how you managed it.) “Oh.” Consuela flashed a victorious grin. The brightness of the jewels around her neck dimmed out her perfect nacre teeth. “It's all a matter of being and looking smart, really.” (And I weigh five kilos more than the last time you saw me.) Consuela kept on explaining how her plan was carried out, smoothing out some intimate details which Maria could well imagine anyway. Maria praised her. (I really didn't expect such cleverness from her.)

Consuela laughed merrily along. Their stroll was done and they were back at the party. Mr Carvallo was waiting for her. Maria watched as her friend joined her lover and kissed him on the lips. His arm went around her tiny, fit waist. (My friend is a gold-digger.) Consuela looked dashing in that black mini dress and necklace. All eyes were on Consuela. (How I envy her.) Only a fool wouldn't want to look at her. (Only a fool wouldn't want to be her.)

#Prose