Cultivating the Habit of Reading

In my very many years as a 26 years old woman, I can count how many books I have read as an adult. Growing up, it was always books books books. My dad never failed to buy us books (God rest his gentle soul). He would buy us all sorts of books from fantasy to nature, gemstones, types of birds in the world, and even various historical happenings. As a child, reading was a part of my everyday activity, but after my primary education, I read books when I would save up my lunch money to buy romance novels in secondary school. When I was in the higher institution, I didn't do much reading either. Even the romance fictions I once loved were no longer a part of my journey. I would only read school work, which indeed I wasn't reading for its pleasure but because it was a necessity.

The reason why I say reading is essential is that it exposes you to a whole lot of things. When having conversations with people, I'm able to give answers to certain questions that comes up because I read it up somewhere.

Reading is very much essential I recommend everyone to do it. It doesn't have to be all the time but once in a while, pick up a book on what concerns your life as a developer, a manager, or a teacher it can even be something random. There are so many things that you can read about that will help put your life in perspective. One book that I read and will always go back to read is The Way of The Shepherd by Dr. Kevin Leman and Bill Pentak. The book is all about managing productive people, but I think it can be applied in our daily lives as well. Another book I'm reading is related to my field in tech, The Coding Career Handbook by Shawn Swyx Wang.

I'm also taking baby steps to cultivate reading culture, and I think you should do the same too.